Question:Can the N91 display the .m4a itunes extension Album art?

Lance sent me in an email today asking the below.

Hey,

So I have a question…

Can it display the .m4a itunes extension Album art? (not itunes music store .m4p protected)

If not can you add album art to .m4a? or can you only add it to .mp3?

Maybe you could do a visual on ur blog?

Great blog by the way.

thanks alot

Lance

Thanks for the question Lance and its certainly something ill have to look in to.
Let me first reply that i only have Mp3's in my Itunes database.
What I have noticed so far ( based on owning a Apple Mac /Itunes) is this.

Useing the Nokia Music manager will not allow you to send over the Album art with the Tune , Il need to check the Docs on this but im pretty sure that there is no function on this. Ill give u an update on that.

As for the .m4a extension ive no idea but again ill give it a try and see what happens.

UPDATE:

Q: Which media files are compatible with the Music Player on my Nokia N91?

A: Music player supports files with extensions AAC, AAC+, eAAC+, MP3, WMA, WAV, 3G2, 3GP, 3GPP, 3GPP2, MPEG, MP4, M4A, DCF, ODF, ASF, and M3U. Music player does not necessarily support all features of a file format or all the variations of file formats.

Copyright protections may prevent some images, music (including ringing tones), and other content from being copied, modified, transferred or forwarded"

The Above taken from the Nokia FAQ.

Thanks for the Email and a good question.

Macbuckley

UPDATE:

Ok You have asked and ive checked it out.

By useing Synctunes I sent over a test tune that Lance sent me with a Sample Art Pic as well.

I added them in to Itunes, which was fine , created a Sample playlist and and useing Synchtunes i copied over the tune itsself.

And As you can see below it does in fact show up, but not for Mp3a , at least for those coming from the Apple Mac.
Have to look in to that anyway here is the proof.

Proof

5 Comments

Filed under Apple Mac / Nokia N91 Questions

5 responses to “Question:Can the N91 display the .m4a itunes extension Album art?

  1. Anthony I

    no issues when music encoded as m4a. all tags are tranferred to N91 (album art, copyright, track number etc etc)

  2. Peter

    Some may not no about m4a extension. Any music encoded inder the aac format in iTunes will be compatible with N91, and if album art has been include in iTunes it will show on the N91.

  3. I just got my 2000t and all of my songs are skipping in iTunes, and I cant figure out why. If someone could help me out and tell me how to fix this I would really appreciate it because its driving me crazy. Thanks for the replys.

  4. Pingback: album art in nokia music manager | Download Cell Phones

Leave a Reply

