Nokia N91: How to reset / reformat the Nokia N91

Ok Thought id post this as i think its usefull , yet a bit dangerous.

Lets be honest , the phone is NOT perfect and in my view badly needs a firmware up date to which i belive is coming up in June.

Now if you have some issue and youve tried everything else, then i would sugges this .

1, Make sure to back up EVERYTHING that you want on the phone as the process i will mention will remove EVERYTHING.

2,This can and should only ever be used as a last ditch effort, oh and i take NO BLAME for what ever may or may not happen with the phone.

here are the details………

How to Format the device or  Reset it.

There are two ways,

First you can enter *#7370#. This will reset it to the factory settings and wipe most of the stuff from the phone (contacts, connection settings etc).

or 

You can format most series 60 phones by holding down 3 * green whilst switching it on. Do this untill you see the word formatting or untill it prompts you to enter a city.be warned, you can loose everything by doing either of these things…

With Great power comes great responsiblity.

Macbuckley 

25 Comments

Filed under Nokia N91 Tips

25 responses to “Nokia N91: How to reset / reformat the Nokia N91

  1. elloco

    Just keep in mind that any protected content (DRM) like the pre-loaded videos and songs that came with the N91 WILL NOT play anymore after the reset.

    I’m not 100% sure if backing up and restoring will restore the licenses for the videos and music and I don’t want to lose the Live8 videos so I haven’t tried.

  2. AKash

    Can Somebody Please Confirm if the videos work or not as im gonna sell my n91 soon got 2 dead pixels n got the black crome i want the silver crome one without dead pixles ofcourse im kinda pissed as well as nokia cant do poo about it they r like well becuase you are in a country with no serivce centres that support the n91 im sorry you gotta live with it, ne way CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TEST IF THE DRM CONTENT STILL WORKS OTHERWISE TELL ME OTHERWAYS FOR THE PHONE TO BE COMPLETLY FORMATTED.

    THANX AKASH

  3. kash

    hi , i cannot lock my phone from the button at the top , and when i try the other way it asks for a password any way to reset the phone ?

  4. mentor

    hi im mentor ,i have nokia n91 but i cant use hard drive ? how can i formatted the hard drive .i wase trying holding down 3* and i wase trying *#37370# but dont help nothing ,so im still waiting that any body gona tell me or write me back ???? thanks mentor

  5. Hello?! May I ask how can i reformat my phone??

    besides the steps that you have thought……. (step 3)

    PLS> HELP!!!!!!!!11

  6. Vikas

    *#7370# worked for me…i think the default password for phone is 12345.

  7. Manish

    Gr8 …. these information helped me a lot.

  8. thnks dad ur such a good teacher hehe…ur so cute my cellphone explode..

  9. thanks a lot..my mom brought me new n91 bomb explosive device to create a big bang theory of responsibility…thank u so much dat instruction help me to experiment new explosive device and that is the nokia n91 unit.. i can explode white house in the history of america..god bless u all hope nokia cellphone create new n91 nuclear hard drive to perform nuclear explosion…
    our house explode past 3min..bye were gonna die.!!!

  10. Hello everyone… I’m Ryoichi and I’m trying to perform a hard reset on my phone…. The problem is that when the prompt appears (when the phone asks for a location, etc) it just freezes and that stops me from reformatting it……. Please help me, everyone!!!!!!!!!!! I’m hoping for a reply………. Arigatou gozaimasu!!!!!!

  11. Naveen

    *#7370# worked for me and the default password in 12345

  12. Naveen

    oh, and by the way, thank you

  13. Jea

    my nokia n91 wont turn on and i tried every solution here so can you please help me!

  14. Hally

    THANK YOU SO MUCH!

  15. hi dosto pls help me mai n 91 format karna cha ta hoo par mera phon lock copd puc raha hi our shayad mai ne use cheng kiya hai our bhul gaya ho mai kya karu plsssssss help me

  16. Umoh

    my n91 does not upload music on the music player, it less me, memory low delete some data, when i have lyk 3.7G free memory. and when i try 2 format it tells me harddrive unavailable. what do i do. iv tried the manual formats but 2 no avail.

  17. sahil

    N91 8gb HOW TO FORMAT HARD DISK
    BATTERY PANEL INSERT mobile hang

    please help

    thanks

  18. n91 delay response when sending message anyone have idea?

  19. sanjay

    hello? this sanjay
    i want to sell my n91 if any one interested please call me :- 9848793673 only in andra pradesh

  20. rohit

    hi i hv 91 8GB i hv prob with my ph. suddenly its phone memory becomed full, every time when i resset d ph. hard disk perform its scanning and its completed its test.its not opening its menus by soft key, not showing call details, contacts msg and phones function menus, not changing its profiles also. pls help me wht to do or not. i will be very thankfull to nokia.. pls

  21. rohit

    hi i hv 91 8GB i hv prob with my ph. suddenly its phone memory becomed full, every time when i resset d ph. hard disk perform its scanning and its completed its test.its not opening its menus by soft key, not showing call details, contacts msg and phones function menus, not changing its profiles also. not connecting with PC also. pls help me wht to do or not. i will be very thankfull to nokia.. pls

  22. razi

    hi
    I am trying to format my nokia n91 through *#7780# this code but phone need password to format and i forgot the password so please tell me what should i do

  23. anand

    i have n91;i forget my password so i can’t to format so plese help

Leave a Reply

